You are here: Home > News > Portugal becomes eighth country to ratify UPC Agreement

Portugal becomes eighth country to ratify UPC Agreement

2 September 2015

After completing the required formalities on 28 August 2015, Portugal became the latest country to ratify the UPC agreement, bringing the total number to eight.

In order for the Unified Patent Court and the Unitary Patent to come into effect, 13 EU countries must ratify the Agreement, including the three largest member states in terms of the number of European patent filings (i.e. UK, France and Germany). With France having been the first country to ratify the agreement in March of last year, the UK, Germany and three other countries are all that is required now.

The UKIPO has previously stated that the Agreement would not be ratified by the UK in 2015. It is, however, it is expected to happen before the UK referendum on EU membership.

Be sure to check back here for any further information on the UPC Agreement. In the meantime, a full list of ratifying countries can be found here.


James Mitchell
Electronics, Computing & Physics

If you require further information on anything covered in this briefing, please contact James Mitchell (; +44 207 940 3600) or your usual contact at the firm.

This publication is a general summary of the law. It should not replace legal advice tailored to your specific circumstances.

© Withers & Rogers LLP, September 2015